app about
It is made for the sports fan simply looking to discover the most crucial moments of their favorite sport.
Learn more


There are many national football tournaments, but one of the most attractive, besides the World Cup held every four years, is the Euro Cup. This tournament brings together the best European teams, who compete after a qualifying process. Throughout history, it has gained increasing importance, and the countries that have lifted the European trophy have written a golden page in football history.

The List of Euro Cup Winners

The Euro Cup has 66 years of existence, yet time has proven that winning the title is not for anyone. Soccer has seen how, throughout the years, the trophy has been claimed by just a few European teams.

The first edition of the Euro Cup began in 1958 and ended in 1960, facing organizational problems along the way. Teams like Italy, West Germany, and England did not participate. The first official match of the European competition was held at Lenin Stadium in Moscow, Russia (then part of the Soviet Union) on September 29, 1958.

The tournament has gone through multiple formats. The name of the cup was also different, as it was called the European Nations' Cup until 1992. Currently, it is organized with 24 qualified teams divided into six groups of four teams each. The teams that finish in first and second place in each group will advance to the Round of 16. Additionally, the four best third-placed teams will also make it to the top 16.

Euro Cup Winners from 1960 to 2024

  • 2024 - To be defined
  • 2020 - Italy
  • 2016 - Portugal 
  • 2012 - Spain
  • 2008 - Spain 
  • 2004 - Greece 
  • 2000 - France
  • 1996 - Germany 
  • 1992 - Denmark
  • 1988 - Netherlands 
  • 1984 - France 
  • 1980 - Germany
  • 1976 - Czechoslovakia
  • 1972 - West Germany 
  • 1968 - Italy
  • 1964 - Spain
  • 1960 - Soviet Union

Most Successful Euro Cup Nations

Spain and Germany are the two teams that have won the Euro Cup the most times, with three victories each. The Germans have played in the most finals, with six appearances. They are the host nation for the 2024 European Championship and aim to win it after 28 years. The Spanish team, on the other hand, is the only national team to have won it consecutively, in 2008 and 2012.

Italy and France follow in the rankings with two titles each. The Italians have played in three finals this century, losing two of them and winning the most recent Euro Cup in 2020.

The now-defunct Soviet Union was the first team to win the tournament in 1960. Like Germany, the current Russian team has the most defeats in European finals, with three runner-up finishes. Czechoslovakia, Portugal, the Netherlands, Denmark, and Greece complete the list of champions.

Here is the list of the 10 European champions:

- Germany (3)
- Spain (3)
- Italy (2)
- France (2)
- Soviet Union (now Russia) (1)
- Czechoslovakia (1)
- Portugal (1)
- Netherlands (1)
- Denmark (1)
- Greece (1)


Do you want to know everything about the Euro Cup? Watch the latest sports moment with The Highlights App. Sign up for the waitlist to be the first to know when the app is available.

Sign up NOW and be the first to know when we are live!
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
Catch the best moments
get started
Written by
editorial team 💻
Daniel Benchimol
Co-Founder & CEO
Jee Lee
Creative Director
Kelvin Loyola
Editor Blog
Daniela Bardales
UX - UI Designer
Martin O' Donnell
Editor Blog
Bianca Schinca
Blog Designer

Be the first to find out about our upcoming launch.

Thank you! We’ll be in touch. 🙌🏻
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form. 😧

#must read

highlights app about
It is made for the sports fan simply looking to discover the most crucial moments of their favorite sport.
learn more